Mayor, Councillor Marianne Saliba
Councillor Robert Petreski
Councillor Kellie Marsh
Councillor Moira Hamilton
Manager Community Engagement & Activation
Events and Activations Officer
Communications Officer

Community Representatives
Up to four community representatives
One youth representative (aged under 26 years)
Member for Shellharbour (or delegate)
Member for Kiama (or delegate)
Member for Whitlam (or delegate)
Winners of each of the Australia Day Citizen Award categories from the previous year to be invited onto the Committee for one year.

Agenda / Administration Officer

In October, December, January and March each year at 5.00pm at the Civic Centre.

a. To provide community input into Shellharbour City Council's organisation of an
annual Australia Day celebration

b. To determine Australia Day Citizen Award winners 

The objective of this committee is to assist the Council to deliver a safe and
enjoyable community event on Australia Day within available budget resources by:

a. Providing a forum for discussion to help guide the strategic direction of the
b. Where appropriate forming sub-committees to oversee specific aspects of
the Australia Day celebration, with available budget resources
c. Deciding the winners of the various categories in the Australia Day Citizen

Conduct of the Committee

  • Term of appointment for community representatives to be two years (except
    for previous year's Citizen Award winners, see above). Community
    representative nominations to be advertised and members to be appointed
    by Council.
  • A quorum will consist of half the committee plus one.
  • Committee to meet at least three times per year, and as required

Apply to become a member of Council's Australia Day Committee by filling out this form. Applications close 5 August 2019.

E.g., 21/08/2019
E.g., 21/08/2019

Australia Day Committee

Wednesday 3 April 2019

Wednesday 16 January 2019

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Wednesday 18 April 2018

Wednesday 10 January 2018

Thursday 27 April 2017

Wednesday 11 January 2017


Add new comment

Limited HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <p> <h1> <h2> <h3> <h4> <h5> <h6> <div> <span> <strike> <sup> <sub> <address> <pre> <hr> <br>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <blockquote>
  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Last updated : Thu 1 Aug 2019