We celebrate our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities through a number of annual events including our Reconciliation Schools Walk, NAIDOC Community Day and Regional NAIDOC awards dinner. 

Keep an eye on our events calendar for details on these and other upcoming events. 


Reconciliation Schools Walk

National Reconciliation Week is celebrated across Australia every year between 27 May & 3 June to promote & celebrate the shared journeys of the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander communities and the non-Indigenous communities of Australia.  

To mark this annual celebration, Shellharbour City Council proudly hosts the annual Reconciliation School Flag Walk which involves all schools across the City & the local Aboriginal & non-Aboriginal communities. 

NAIDOC Community Day

NAIDOC Week is an opportunity for the community to come together to celebrate the rich history, diverse cultures and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the oldest continuing cultures on the planet. 

The  Shellharbour City Council NAIDOC Community Day celebrates our local Aboriginal Community with a flag raising ceremony, Welcome to Country, Smoking Ceremony, lunch, stalls workshops and free activities.  


 National NAIDOC Week 2022 will be held from Sunday 3 July to Sunday 10 July.

Regional NAIDOC Awards

Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards are a collaborative event held by Kiama, Wollongong, Shoalhaven and Shellharbour councils to recognise the achievements of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people and organisations.  


Awards are presented in the following categories:  

  • Aboriginal Elder of the Year (Male and Female) 

  • Aboriginal Community Representative of the Year 

  • Aboriginal Young Achiever of the Year (Male and Female) 

  • Aboriginal Community Volunteer of the Year 

  • Outstanding Contribution to Reconciliation (Aboriginal or non-Aboriginal) 

Last updated : Mon 23 May 2022