Friday, 8 July 2022


Shellharbour City Council last night hosted a civic reception to honour the sporting excellence of the city’s most talented young athletes.

The Council recognised 43 athletes from Shellharbour City who have received a 2022 Illawarra Academy of Sports Scholarship.

The athletes represent a wide variety of sports including hockey, rugby union, basketball, netball and triathlon.

The IAS scholarship recipients are:
•    Basketball – Maya Hopkins, Molly Coble, Thomas Hofman and Chayce Te Nana
•    Cycling – Charles Alcock, Ryan Keen, Flynn Langdon, Byron Tynan, Blake Mete
    Hockey - Amity Mayo, Jessica Avnell, Kiarah Inskip and Zali Schofield
•    Rugby Union – Mason Norval and Max Sutton
    Netball – Alexandra Tololeska, Kiana Rieck, Lauren Bancroft, Scarlett Dimond Barker and Rhianna Clarke
•    Netball Umpire - Jarlee Carberry, Madita Anderson and Poppy Calder 
•    Triathlon – Harry Fraser, Jazlyn Cleary and William Mason
•    Lonestar - Ashlyn Adams, Cooper Graham, Eryne Karipidis, Grace Pomery, Jack Bailey, Jared Wood, Lara Limbrick, Lucas Campbell, Mackenzie Best, Montana Doubell, Tayissa Buchanan, Will Fowler and Jack Talbott.
•    Volleyball – Lara Limbrick
•    AWD - Charlize Colwell, Jack Gibson, Patrick Mitchell and Telaya Blacksmith.

Shellharbour City Mayor Chris Homer said it was wonderful to be able to hold an in-person reception again after the 2021 event was held online due to the pandemic.

“The success and ambition these young athletes have demonstrated deserves to be celebrated and we wish them the best of luck in their sporting endeavours,” Mayor Homer said.

“The IAS Scholarship Program gives young athletes sport specific skills to develop and support their abilities, as well as prepare them for a professional sporting career.

“I know these recipients will achieve even more amazing things in the coming years,” he said.

Media enquiries: Kelli Wells 0448 361 008

Last updated : Fri 8 Jul 2022